Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to French writer

GMT 12:32 2014 Thursday ,09 October

Arab Today, arab today Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to French writer

Nobel Prize in Literature for 2014
Brussels - MENA

 The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2014 has been awarded to French author Patrick Modiano, the Swedish Academy announced in Stockholm Thursday.
It said Modiano was given the prize "for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation." The award is worth eight million Swedish kronor (USD 1.1 million).
Modiano was born on July 30, 1945, in a suburb of Paris. His father was a usinessman and his mother an actress.
His works centre on topics such as memory and guilt. Some of Modianoآ’s works have been translated into English. He has also written childrenآ’s books and film scripts.
Throughout the history of the prize, 106 Nobel prizes in Literature have been awarded since 1901, 13 women have been awarded the Literature Prize so far and 4 Literature Prizes have been divided between two persons.
Rudyard Kipling was the youngest Literature Laureate at ever at the age of 42. Doris Lessing 88 years was the oldest Literature Laureate ever at the age of 88.


Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
arabtoday arabtoday arabtoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabs, Arab, Arab