CPJ International Press Freedom Awards 2012

Four journalists awarded for bravery

GMT 16:34 2012 Tuesday ,23 October

Arab Today, arab today Four journalists awarded for bravery

Journalists Wangchen, Azango, Askarov, König
New York - Agencies

Journalists Wangchen, Azango, Askarov, König Four journalists will be honoured with the International Press Freedom Awards for their courageous reporting in Brazil, China, Kyrgyzstan and Liberia. The Committee to Protect Journalists will reward the following journalists: Mauri König (Gazeta do Povo, Brazil), Mae Azango (FrontPage Africa and New Narratives, Liberia) jailed journalists Dhondup Wangchen (Filming for Tibet, China) and Azimjon Askarov (Ferghana News and Golos Svobody, Kyrgyzstan).
The awardees faced assault, threat and torture and risked their lives for their stories.
CPJ will present Alan Rusbridger, editor of the Guardian newspaper in the United Kingdom, with the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in the cause of press freedom.

Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
arabtoday arabtoday arabtoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabs, Arab, Arab