13th Arab Journalism Award

Mohammed bin Rashid honours winners

GMT 12:52 2014 Thursday ,22 May

Arab Today, arab today Mohammed bin Rashid honours winners

UAE Vice President sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (R)
Dubai - Arab Today

UAE Vice President sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (R) UAE Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, has honoured the winners of the 13th Arab Journalism Award (AJA) during a special gala ceremony held at Madinat Jumeirah in Dubai yesterday.
The ceremony was held alongside the conclusion of the 13th Arab Media Forum in the presence of a host of prominent Arab media leaders, key writers and industry specialists. The ceremony took place with the attendance of Dubai Crown Prince and Chairman of the Dubai Executive Council, H.H. Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Dubai Deputy Ruler, H.H. Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Mohammed Abdulla Al Gergawi, Minister of Cabinet Affairs, Mona Ghanim Al Marri, Secretary-General of the Arab Journalism Awards and a huge gathering of high-calibre professionals in the fields of media, thought and culture in the region.
Awards were delivered to fifteen Arab press winners, honours for which were chosen from among more than 4,500 works covering various arts and areas of journalism, received from various daily and weekly newspapers and periodicals, in both print and online, from various Arab and foreign countries.
The ceremony began with a short film which reflected the most important events that have affected the Arab media landscape over the past year.
A special honour was also granted to the late Dr. Abdullah Omran Taryam.
The event also included a presentation creatively presented by the artist Mohammed Al-Dairi in the form of an image of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, patron of the Arab Journalism Award and the Arab Media Forum, in recognition by the Award Secretariat of His Highness' support and patronage for the award since its launch in 1999.
Sheikh Mohammed honoured Ibrahim Al Abed, Director-General of the National Media Council, with the "Media Personality of the Year Award" in recognition of his contributions to the local and Arab media, including the foundation of the UAE News Agency, "WAM"
Sheikh Mohammed also presented the "Best Newspaper Column" award to Mohammed Tawfiq, who received the trophy on behalf of the winner, Egyptian writer Ahmad Rajab. The Award came in recognition of Rajab's efforts in the march of the Arab media through his work as a writer. He is the most prominent symbols of satirical writing in the Arab world, writing the column, "Nos Kalima" in the Egyptian daily, "Akhbar Al Youm". Rajab began his writing career in 1968, and in his column he highlights the challenges facing society and sheds light on the aspirations of its members.
Dhaen Shaheen, a member of the board of the Arab Journalism Award, presented the AJA Shield for Investigative Journalism to journalist Iman Al Warraqi of the Egyptian "Seventh Day".
Sakina Fuad, AJA Board Member, presented the AJA Shield for Humanitarian Journalism Award to journalist Ahmed Mediani of "Morocco Today" magazine.
Dr. Abdul Elah Belqzaiz, Member of the AJA Board, presented the Political Journalism Award to Amro Bayoumi of "Emirates Today", UAE.
Raed Barqawi, AJA Board Member, presented the Shield of Press Interviews Journalism Award to journalist Yasser Rizq of "Al Masri Al Youm".
Khaled Al Ma'ina, AJA Board Member, presented the AJA Shield of Economic Journalism Award to Mostafa Abdul Adhim of "Al Ittihad" newspaper, UAE.
Mohammed Al Hammadi, AJA Board Member presented the Shield of Specialized Journalism Award to Dr. Adel Allaqani, Editor-in -Chief of "Lughatu Al Asr" magazine.
Dr. Abdul Nasser Al Najjar, AJA Board Member, presented the Shield of Sports Journalism Award to Masaad Abdul Wahhab of "Al Khaleej", UAE..
AJA Board Member, Aisha Sultan, presented the shield of Best Cultural Journalism Award to Sharif Saleh of the Kuwaiti newspaper "Al Nahar".
AJA Board Member Abdul Hamid Ahmed presented the Shield of Best Picture Award to photographer Ammar Jameel Awadh, of Reuters.
Ayman Al Sayyad, AJA Board Member, presented the Shield of Outstanding Cartoon Works Award to Amer Al Zoubi. Ali Shahdour, Editing Director General at Al Bayan Newspaper, received the award on his behalf.
The Vice Chairman of the AJA, Dhiaa Rashwan, presented Shields of Honour to the three winners of Young Journalist Awards, being Aziz Al Hoor of Morocco's "Al Akhbar", Mohammed Ahdad of Morocco's "Al Masa" newspaper, and Sami Modni of Morocco's "Al Masa".
Source: WAM

Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
arabtoday arabtoday arabtoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabs, Arab, Arab